When you are driving through different states, you might find it confusing that there are different safety laws and driving rules from one state to another. It is always best to exercise caution when unsure about what the specific state laws are; however, when you become injured in an accident, for example, it is very important that you understand whether you and the other driver were in fact abiding by the laws of the state.
In the state of California, the laws are in place to enforce the safety of all those on the road. If a person is not abiding by these laws and they cause a crash as a result, it is likely that they will be legally culpable.
Seat belt laws
In the state of California, all vehicles must have seat belts installed. For children under the age of 8 years old or less than 4 feet 9 inches tall, a child safety seat is required to be used. In general, these child safety seats should be used in the back seat unless there are no back seats in the vehicle or it is not safe to install a child safety seat in the back.
Laws on phone use while driving
The Wireless Communications Device Law was enacted to enforce a zero legal tolerance while driving. The only type of cellphone use that is permissible is the use of a hands-free device.
If you have been involved in a car accident in California, it is important that you ensure that you were abiding by all aspects of the law.
Source: DMV, "Traffic Safety Laws in California," accessed May 04, 2018