If you have been injured in a car accident in the state of California, it is likely that you will want to make an insurance claim in order to recoup damages. Understanding what you are entitled to can be difficult to do. This is why it is important that you understand how accident laws work in the state of California.
There are many aspects of the law that you should pay attention to regarding car accident claims. Limits on damages as well as time limits on making claims are crucial details that have the potential to make or break a claim.
What is the statute of limitations for car accident claims?
In California, the statute of limitations depends on the particular situation. If you want to make a legal claim for property damage to your car or other damaged valuables, you must do so within 3 years. However, if you want to make a claim for personal injury following the accident, you must do so within 2 years.
Are there any limits on damages when making a claim?
If a driver was uninsured, they are not entitled to damages for anything other than economic damages.
Do I have to prove fault in order to claim damages?
In order to have a successful car accident claim in the state of California, you must be able to show that another party was at fault for the accident. This is because California is an "at fault" state when it comes to auto accident claims.
If you have been involved in a car accident in California, it is important that you understand what actions you should take to recoup damages.